XPlane 12 Wrong File Format

When exporting a Flight plan into Xplane 12 the wrong file format is used. The .FPL or .FMS. Xplane 12 has a new format it will only accept plans with the extension of .SIT .FDR or .REP. It is for that very reason that flight plans exported from Xplane 11.5 and previous versions will not work on Xplane 12.

Hi, I am not aware of X-Plane removing support for .FMS files.

But note that .FMS files are meant to be loaded directly through the FMS after the flight has been loaded. I believe .SIT .FDR or .REP are meant for loading an entire flight from the X-Plane menu, whereas .FMS are for loading the route into the aircraft’s FMS.

Try following these instructions and let us know if it works: XPFlightPlanner - Load flight plan into FMS

Best regards,

Why does everyone have a WRONG opinion before actually find out?
As a Professional Engineer, I wouldn’t have lasted a week let alone 30 years.

YOU ARE WRONG

Hi,
and thanks for your input but here are the official specifications, provided by Laminar-Research for XP-Plane:

Scroll down:

When this is wrong as you wrote, please report this to Laminar Research. These are the official, public developer information - possible they haven´t updated it but we don´t know it.

Thank you,
Richard

PS: here the official supported file-formats for XP12 - I haven´t found any with SIT, FDR or REP. So, please can you forward us the specification of these file formats?

Here you go!

I have numerous flight plans in the folder yet it can’t find them. Here is a sample:

CYHMKTPA.fms (248 Bytes)

Sorry, you are wrong …

According your screenshot, you want to load a flight and NOT a flightplan. A flightplan will be loaded normally directly in the aircraft and not somewhere outside.

You see this also in the first line of your screenshot. The extensions are correct but not for a flightplan.

Thank you
Richard